What is the East Contra Costa Fire Protection District (ECCFPD)?


The East Contra Costa Fire Protection District (ECCFPD) provides firefighting and prevention, emergency medical services (basic life support) and hazardous waste response. We serve 249 square miles in eastern Contra Costa County including the Cities of Brentwood and Oakley, and the communities of Discovery Bay, Bethel Island, Knightsen, Byron, Marsh Creek, and Morgan Territory. The District was formed in November 2002 by combining the Bethel Island Fire District, the East Diablo Fire District, and the Oakley Fire District. It is governed by a five member elected board of directors.